conGRADulatory brunch

Leave a comment

May 13, 2014 by booksandbruschetta

Dat’s right. I did it.

I am officially an alumni of Syracuse University! The feeling is surreal, not that it has all really hit me yet. It’s a weird kind of bittersweet knowing I accomplished so much during my four years at Syracuse, but at the same time knowing I had to leave the place where I grew into my own and leave the people who helped shape me into who I’ve become. Weird.

It’s time though, and I know that. I’m starting a new chapter of my life and couldn’t be more excited for it. In my opinion, there is only way to celebrate the end of something amazing and the beginning of something extraordinary… homefries. Preferably the homefries are eaten during brunch after a lazy morning in bed accompanied by a large veggie scramble and a slice of stuffed french toast. Hello drool, nice to see you again.

IMG_2843

This is my formula for the perfect homefries: crispy on the outside and fluffy soft on the inside

Perfect Homefries

1/2 large yellow onion, diced

2 medium russet potatoes, small cubed

olive oil

salt & pepper

Chop up your onion and throw in a large skillet over medium heat along with about a half tablespoon of olive oil. Let them cook until fragrant and translucent. You shouldn’t get any real color on them yet. After those are cooked, toss in all your cubed potatoes. The cube size should be pretty small, this is what allows the outside to get crispy and the inside to have enough time to cook all the way through.

With a spatula flatten your potatoes and onions into one layer in your pan. You’re going to let those cook for a few minutes (about 3) before flipping your layer over and re-flattening. This allows a nice golden brown crisp to form on your homefries. IMG_2837

 

You’re going to season your homefries with salt and pepper after two flips, then continue the flipping process until you’ve got your perfect homefries. I served mine with bacon, sausage, broccoli, spinach, zucchini, and cheddar cheese scrambled into some omega-3 rich eggs. After this, I was the most satisfied of college grads. Please make and enjoy these potatoes, whether you are also a celebrating college grad, or you make it for your college grad… or you just like homefries.

 

IMG_2839

Leave a Reply

