a cavewoman is born : a day in a new life

3

August 8, 2013 by booksandbruschetta

I’m tired, my body aches, and my pj’s are on.

It is 10:30pm.

I’ve had flu-like symptoms for the past 2 days… and it’s early August… not quite flu season.

I guess we have to go back to my last blog post from a month or two ago. I was just back from Italy then and getting back into my good old American routine. I was back in the gym and eating a slightly different diet (and when I say slightly I mean huge). I was back to eating a lot of lean meats, fruits, and veggies in place of the copious amount of pasta and bread my Italian diet was made up of. I felt a whole lot better for about a month and a half, but then I hit a wall. My lifts were all plateauing, I was tired all the time, and not matter how many banded pull ups I pumped out more than 2 without a band remained an impossible feat.

Fast forward to a week ago when I started reading Robb Wolf’s The Paleo Solution out of curiosity on the subject. Oh crap, my nerd is showing isn’t it? Anyway, I finished the book in 2 days with a highly peaked interest. Sure I didn’t eat much refined grains anymore, but my dairy and legume intake were nowhere near low. I was chugging milk and spooning peanut butter out of a jar every chance I had (the peanut butter was natural… which makes it better. It makes it better doesn’t it!?) Regardless I found myself neither a complete convert nor a non-believer and decided that the only option would be to try out the diet for 30 days. Simply put I’m eating no refined grains, no dairy, and no legumes. Thus a cavewoman is born.

This explains the flu-like symptoms. Yes, there was a point to my ramblings. Today was day 4 of strict paleo living. Day 1 was no problem, but day 2 had left me with cold sweats and the shivers. My body still wasn’t happy about not getting its greek yogurt on day 3 and left me drained. But as day 4 comes to a close things are looking up and my newfound confidence in paleo cooking has definitely helped.

Day 1 looked like this:

IMG_1752

 

Sweet potato and brussel sprout bacon hash in the morning.

IMG_1757

 

A chicken salad with everything but the kitchen sink… and grains… and dairy.. and legumes (you get the picture).

IMG_1768

 

Then I ended the day with some ginger thyme salmon, coconut bok choy, spinach, and avocado slices. There were some snacks in there too, I mean how could I not eat a packet of all natural beef jerky after work? Anyway, this cavewoman is going to be sending some paleo recipes your way including the ones in this post so all three of you who read my blog… including my mother.. should get ready!

3 thoughts on “a cavewoman is born : a day in a new life

  1. Dad says:

    I really think all lifts would have gone up if you had tried the GOMAD diet!

  2. Dad says:

    And stop eating all my BACON!

  3. Kellie says:

    Wonderful…. Cause your father will now want me to create that again I am sure

Leave a comment