dark choco brownies

Leave a comment

October 20, 2013 by booksandbruschetta

I’m not one for cake. Never have been. It just doesn’t do it for me. When I want dessert I want it to knock my socks off. I want smooth creamy ice cream or fruit filled pie. I want flavors and complexity no matter how pretentious that might sound when referring to dessert. The closest I’ll come to cake is a brownie, but I like ’em dense and fudgy. I also like ’em dark… (dark chocolate that is.)

IMG_1937

Being grain-free and dairy-free sure does put a damper on dessert most days. I mean how many days in a row can you tell yourself you’re all set with that bowl of fruit and some almond butter after dinner? Well, I had reached my limit so I did my research and found a better use for my after dinner almond butter. Brownies. Dark chocolatey brownies. This is the simplest recipe I could find that didn’t use any real weird ingredients and they came out ah-mahzing! My whole house at them up with me hot out of the oven.

Dark Choco Brownies

1/2 cup almond flour

1/3 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

8 tablespoons olive oil

2 eggs

3 tablespoons raw honey

2 tablespoons almond butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, mix together the almond flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl whisk together the oil, eggs, honey, almond butter, and vanilla extract until well incorporated. Add the dry mixture into the liquid and fold in your chocolate chips. Spread your batter into an 8×8 baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes. I took mine out a little early because I like ’em a little gooey too. Let cool for a little… if you can. Then devour with your closest friends.

Leave a comment