crispy seasoned cauliflower

Leave a comment

October 28, 2013 by booksandbruschetta

IMG_1992

Not all vegetables excite me. I know, it’s hard to believe, Ms. Lover-of-all-that-is-Healthy over here, but some foods just don’t give me that warm and tingly feeling inside. Cauliflower is one of those foods. Boiled cauliflower is terrible. It just tastes like water. Sauteed is getting better, but it’s still so boring. Maybe it’s the white color or my lack of great experiences with the veggie, but cauliflower does not inspire me.

Usually I just ignore it, but every once in a while my inner nutrition major takes over and I have the urge to try every vegetable I know I ignore. I like to give second chances, especially when I know that cauliflower has tons of dietary fiber and vitamin C, which my body could always use some more of.

I think I might have stumbled upon the perfect way to cook these little white bundles… cover them in tasty seasonings and roast them till they are golden and crispy. I could actually probably do that to just about anything and I think it would taste good.

Cauliflower skeptics of the internet,

Please give cauliflower another chance. It’s much better after a good 35 minutes in the oven.

Sincerely, Corie

Crispy Seasoned Cauliflower

1 head of cauliflower, cut up into stalks

1 egg

seasoned “bread crumbs”

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. In a large baking dish toss together your cauliflower stalks and 1 whisked up egg. For the seasoned breadcrumbs I used a mix of almond meal, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, basil, salt, and pepper. I didn’t really measure anything out, kinda just threw it together because it felt right. Those of you not worried about eating paleo could just use seasoned breadcrumbs instead. Just do what feels right and let your inner chef take over.

IMG_1989

Put your cauliflower in the oven and bake for about 35 minutes. Check every once in a while to make sure they don’t get too dark. When you take them out they should be golden and crispy. Can you say yum? Cause I can… yum.

IMG_1994

Leave a comment